August 2015 Acknowledgements College of Liberal Arts

Congratulations:

Congratulations to the following faculty members who received awards and special accolades presented at this year's Liberal Arts Fall Faculty Meeting on August 21:

Kathryn Ledbetter (ENG) and **Ronald Johnson** (HIST) Golden Apple Award and Presidential Distinction Award for Excellence in Teaching

Robert Tally (ENG) and **Joseph Laycock** (PHIL) Golden Apple Award and Presidential Distinction Award for Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activities

Shannon Duffy (HIST) and **Catherine Jaffe** (MODL) Golden Apple Award and Presidential Distinction Award for Excellence in Service

Jennifer Jensen (GEO) and **Natalie Ceballos** (PSY) Presidential Distinction Award for Excellence in Teaching

Sharon Ugalde (MODL) and **Carmen Westerberg** (PSY) Presidential Distinction Award for Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activities

Steve Wilson (ENG) and **Robyn Rogers** (PSY) Presidential Distinction Award for Excellence in Service

Antonio Alfau (MODL), Award for Excellence in Teaching (Part-Time)

Neill Hadder (ANTH), Kathleen McClancy (ENG), David Butler (GEO), Ana Romo (HIST), Sergio Martinez (MODL), Nieves Pujalte (POSI) and Krista Howard (PSY) College Achievement Award in Teaching

Kent Reily (ANTH), **Elizabeth Makowshi** (HIST), **Jason Julian** (GEO), **Jessica Pliley** (HIST), Omar Sibony-Sanchez (POSI) and **Joseph Kotarba** (SOC) Presidential Distinction Award in Scholarly/Creative Activities

Kate Spradley (ANTH), Jo Ann Carson (PHIL), Cecilia Castillo (POSI), Lynn Crossett (POSI), Kyong Hee Chee (SOC), and Kelly Mosel-Talavera (SOC) Presidential Distinction Award in Service.

Jason Julian (GEO) and Todd Ahlman (ANTH) Award for Grant/Contract Funding

Mark Busby (ENG) Award for Development Funding

Paul Hart (HIST) Excellence in Mentoring

Margaret Menninger (HIST) NEH Distinguished Teaching Professorship in the Humanities 2015-2018

Joaquin Rivaya-Martinez (HIST) Jesse H. and Mary Gibb Jones Professor of Southwestern Studies 2015-2018

Shirley Ogletree (PSY) Everette Swinney Teaching Excellence Award

Alba Melgar and **Gloria Velasquez** (MODL) Team Award and **Roque Mendez** (PSY) Individual Award Excellence in Diversity Award

Carmen Westerberg (PSY) Presidential Seminar

Priscilla Leder (ENG) Distinguished Professor Emerita

Susan Morrison (ENG), Richard Dixon (GEO), Osvaldo Muniz-Solari (GEO), Lucy Harney (MODL), Catherine Jaffe (MODL), Carole Martin (MODL), Robert Gorman (POSI) and Nathan Pino (SOCI) Honorary Professor of International Studies 2015-2018

Tenured and promoted to Associate Professor: **Stephen Black** (ANTH), **Sarah Blue** (GEO), **Jennifer Jensen** (GEO), **Luis Intersimone** (MODL), **Nieves Pujalte** (MODL), **Omar Sanchez-Sibony** (POSI), and **Ty Shepis** (PSY).

Promoted to Professor: Joseph Etheron (PSY).

Faculty Years of Service: Pinfan Zhu (10 ENG), Deborah Balzhiser (10 ENG), Octavio Pimentel (10 ENG), Robert Tally (10 ENG), Daniel Price (10 ENG), Nathan Currit (10 GEO), Philip Suckling (10 GEO), Rebecca Montgomery (10 HIST), Jorge Porras (10 MODL), Sergio Martinez (10 MODL), Matthew Conner (10 MODL), Nieves Pujalte (10 MODL), Ben Arnold (10 POSI), John Huber (10 PSY), Amy Meeks (10 PSY), Crystal Oberle (10 PSY), Reiko Graham (10 PSY), Robert Price (10 SOCI), Gloria Martinez (10 SOCI), Tina Villarreal (10 SOCI), Kathryn Ledbetter (15 ENG), Paul Hart (15 HIST), Margaret Menniger (15 HIST), James McWilliams (15 HIST), Blake Locklin (15 MODL), Antonio Gragera (15 MODL), Nancy Wilson (20 ENG), Benjamin Zhan (20 GEO), Richard Dixon (20 GEO), Gary Hartman (20 HIST), Richard Henderson (20 POSI), Jaime Mejia (25 ENG), Gene Bourgeois (25 HIST), Mary Brennan (25 HIST), William DeSoto (25 POSI), Kenneth Grasso (25 POSI), Edward Mihalkanin (25 POSI), Jon McGee (30 ANTH), Miles Wilson (35 ENG), James Petersen (35 GEO), Ronald Brown (40 HIST), Howard Balanoff (40 POSI), and Dennis Dunn (45 HIST)

Faculty Retirement: Priscilla Leder (ENG), Miles Wilson (ENG), Brock Brown (GEO), Philip Suckling (GEO), Gilbert Fulmer (PHIL) Jeffrey Gordon (PHIL), Stan Friedman (PSY), and Paul Raffeld (PSY).

In the News:

External Venue

An op-ed piece of **Jimmy McWilliams** (HIST) and **Robert Fischer** (PHIL) ran in the *New York Times*: http://opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com/2015/08/16/when-vegans-wont-compromise/? r=0.

John Mckiernan-Gonzalez (HIST) moderated two conversations with live stream at the National Museum of American History on the impact of the Americans with Disabilities Act on Latino communities: http://americanhistory.si.edu/topics/disability-history/pages/ada-25-years-disability-civil-rights-july-22-26

The Department of Political Science was mentioned in a piece in the *Austin American Statesman* about their event celebrating the 50th anniversary of the signing of the Voting Rights Act. (8/4)

University Star

Bob Fischer (PHIL) is featured in an article discussing an essay he wrote about racism. (8/20)

Melissa Derrick, Administrative Assistant for International Studies, was interviewed for an article about her run for city council. (8/24)